Getting Started, Your First Dota 2 Addon [Calibas Tutorials #1]

edited March 2016 in Tutorials

This is a guide to getting started creating DOTA2 addons, also known as custom games or mods. This first tutorial is aimed at the complete beginner, it will be very basic and walk you through every step. Later tutorials will be more complex, and eventually they'll require at least a basic knowledge of programming.

http://i.imgur.com/aOEONLg.jpg

Update: Now that Dota 2 Reborn Beta has launched, you'll want to install the Workshop Tools by right-clicking on Dota 2 in your Steam library and selecting View Downloadable Content. Then select the checkboxes for Reborn Beta and the Workshop Tools.

If you need more detailed instructions, you can find them here.

Note that the Workshop Tools have moderate system requirements, and not every system will be able to run them. You will need a 64-bit version of windows at the moment, though a 32-bit version of the tools should be available soon. Update: Not sure if this has changed as of Dota 2 Reborn Beta.

After starting Dota 2 - Reborn Beta Tools, a list of example addons will pop up, and you can create a new addon of your own using any of those as a starting point. For the moment though, hit the Create Empty Addon button, give your addon a name, then hit the Launch Dota 2 Workshop Tools button.

A special Dota 2 client will start, along with the Asset Browser where you'll see all the files your addon uses. It may also show the entire list of assets used by Dota 2, which is an enormous list, but you can set it to only display your mod's assets by clicking the button with a folder icon.

enter image description here